Flag
  • Sign In
  • 0 items
  • Search
Welcome Guest! Please login to enable all features.

Notification

Icon
Error

clnzyb2f4586c Offline
#1 Posted : Saturday, September 07, 2013 7:46:10 AM(UTC)
clnzyb2f4586c

Groups: Registered

Hello! I hope someone has some tips for meBigGrin . I'm fairly new to crafting and using my cricut--which I love! I'm trying to decoupage some of the cuts I've made on the cricut onto a painted canvas but I'm having a hard time. I made some Mickey decoupaged canvases for my sons birthday which turned out well so I thought I'd do some Christmas themed ones. Turns out the Mickey success may have been beginners luck. I'm having a hard time getting the die cuts to adhere well to the painted canvas, then when I decoupage, the edges curl. I've tried glue stick, just using the Mod Pog for adhesive, glue pen, and lastly, spray adhesive. No luck. I have a xyron but am waiting for the refill to arrive (hopefully today). Any input would be appreciated!!!
Mommer Offline
#2 Posted : Saturday, September 07, 2013 8:41:43 AM(UTC)
Mommer

Was thanked: 31 time(s) in 19 post(s)
Hi

I just did a bunch of die cuts multiple layers on painted canvas.
I used Scotch quick dry adhesive for between the paper layers, let them dry before putting on the canvas.
I used mod podge to adhere to painted canvas.

1. Put a layer or two of mod podge on the painted canvas and let dry.
2 On the die cuts I put a layer of mod podge on the back and front and let dry..sort of sealing the die cuts.
3 Put die cut on painted canvas with mod podge turning the canvas over and pressing the die cut and canvas face down on wax paper on a hard surface to get a good seal between the two. (turned over because the canvas is stretchy)
4. Turn back over on front of canvas and cover with multiple layers of mod podge...let dry in between.
(Tip for curled edges..use a brush and put mod podge under the edge and press.)