Flag
  • Sign In
  • 0 items
  • Search
Welcome Guest! Please login to enable all features.

Notification

Icon
Error

TawnyMcEwen Offline
#1 Posted : Sunday, November 18, 2012 1:30:26 AM(UTC)
TawnyMcEwen

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 11/10/2010(UTC)
Posts: 8

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
I just got a new computer today and was so excited to use cricut craft room again. I download it and open it to use it and it will not open all the way. It gives me a message that says " Initializing Cricut Craft Room" This is normal but I don't think it's normal to wait for 20 + minutes and still doesn't work. Is it because my new computer has windows 8? anyone else having this issue?
Narelle Offline
#2 Posted : Sunday, November 18, 2012 4:47:26 AM(UTC)
Narelle

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Circle Member, Registered
Joined: 9/26/2006(UTC)
Posts: 10,665
Australia
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Thanks: 1970 times
Was thanked: 7575 time(s) in 3538 post(s)
Try running it in Windows 7 compatibility mode and as an administrator. Right click on the CCR icon on your desktop and select Properties.

Then click on the Compatibility tab. (I'm just assuming here that they haven't changed how you do this in Windows 8.)

MichelleCrews Offline
#3 Posted : Monday, November 19, 2012 8:11:58 PM(UTC)
MichelleCrews

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 4/2/2007(UTC)
Posts: 60

Was thanked: 9 time(s) in 7 post(s)
Thanks for the great idea and help I was finally able to cut my first card on my Windows 8

Michelle
TawnyMcEwen Offline
#4 Posted : Monday, November 19, 2012 11:27:12 PM(UTC)
TawnyMcEwen

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 11/10/2010(UTC)
Posts: 8

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
I actually tried that before I posted. I tried it again and it didn't work. I don't know what is going on. thanks anyway. i'll just call cricut support in the morning. i'll bring back insightMellow
Narelle Offline
#5 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2012 3:49:52 AM(UTC)
Narelle

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Circle Member, Registered
Joined: 9/26/2006(UTC)
Posts: 10,665
Australia
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Thanks: 1970 times
Was thanked: 7575 time(s) in 3538 post(s)
Originally Posted by: TawnyMcEwen Go to Quoted Post
I actually tried that before I posted. I tried it again and it didn't work. I don't know what is going on. thanks anyway. i'll just call cricut support in the morning. i'll bring back insightMellow


Have you added CCRBridge.exe and Cricut-CraftRoom.exe as exceptions to your anti-virus program?
TawnyMcEwen Offline
#6 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2012 10:23:01 PM(UTC)
TawnyMcEwen

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 11/10/2010(UTC)
Posts: 8

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Narelle Go to Quoted Post
Have you added CCRBridge.exe and Cricut-CraftRoom.exe as exceptions to your anti-virus program?


how do you do that?

Narelle Offline
#7 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2012 11:43:47 PM(UTC)
Narelle

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Circle Member, Registered
Joined: 9/26/2006(UTC)
Posts: 10,665
Australia
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Thanks: 1970 times
Was thanked: 7575 time(s) in 3538 post(s)
Originally Posted by: TawnyMcEwen Go to Quoted Post
how do you do that?



That depends on what anti-virus program you're using.

Generally there will be an icon in the bottom right of your screen that you need to click on to open up your anti-virus programs settings screen.

The easiest thing to do would be to call customer service and have them walk you through it.





MsHope2012 Offline
#8 Posted : Thursday, November 22, 2012 5:55:21 PM(UTC)
MsHope2012

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 6/14/2012(UTC)
Posts: 41

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 16 time(s) in 10 post(s)
I just got a new laptop also with Windows 8. I had the same issue. I would have thought that there would be an update for the CCR by now. EVERYTHING is different on Windows 8 and I already had a major password issue so I'm not sure I want to go in and screw around with it again.

Ugh, I guess this is a perfect time for me to try to figure out how to weld on my Gypsy again! I do like the CCR and feel like it is easy to use when it is working. BigGrin

mnebjb277d555 Offline
#9 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 10:18:49 AM(UTC)
mnebjb277d555

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 11/17/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1

Wub Very many thanks. Never gave that move a thought. I run Vista on the other machine. Set this one to Vista service pack 2.
Saved it. Clicked to start. No problem installed drivers and away it went.

Now in action on a Win 8 laptop.

Once again Thank you THANK YOU.

Big Hugs Bill
gabykievitcdab3d77 Offline
#10 Posted : Saturday, December 01, 2012 7:03:47 AM(UTC)
gabykievitcdab3d77

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/1/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1

Hello,

I have the same problem!
I have tried everything like posted above but it still says Initializing Cricut Craft Room.

Can anyone help me?

Thanks!!
Narelle Offline
#11 Posted : Saturday, December 01, 2012 8:09:39 AM(UTC)
Narelle

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Circle Member, Registered
Joined: 9/26/2006(UTC)
Posts: 10,665
Australia
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Thanks: 1970 times
Was thanked: 7575 time(s) in 3538 post(s)
Originally Posted by: gabykievitcdab3d77 Go to Quoted Post
Hello,

I have the same problem!
I have tried everything like posted above but it still says Initializing Cricut Craft Room.

Can anyone help me?

Thanks!!


Yes! Give PC customer service a call! They love to help and will walk you through getting past the Initializing screen! Smile

equine200cd73657 Offline
#12 Posted : Saturday, December 01, 2012 12:59:10 PM(UTC)
equine200cd73657

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 8/3/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1

Originally Posted by: Narelle Go to Quoted Post
Try running it in Windows 7 compatibility mode and as an administrator. Right click on the CCR icon on your desktop and select Properties.

Then click on the Compatibility tab. (I'm just assuming here that they haven't changed how you do this in Windows 8.)




I had the same issue with my new laptop and it worked wonders. Thank you!BigGrin
jandpstuartbbcf144c Offline
#13 Posted : Saturday, December 01, 2012 1:42:24 PM(UTC)
jandpstuartbbcf144c

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/1/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1

BigGrin Thank you that was really helpful and at last have been able to get both craftroom and my cricut synch working on my new windows 8 computer. My only problem now is that my design studio is not able to be transferred to my new computer. But I can now disappear to my craftroom with the laptop and craftroom. Janice
sot8909dedf8edd Offline
#14 Posted : Tuesday, December 25, 2012 4:00:18 PM(UTC)
sot8909dedf8edd

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/25/2012(UTC)
Posts: 8

I bought a new laptop with Windows 8 and just got my Cricut Expressions 2 for Christmas. I've tried every mode, and everything listed below as well as make sure my anti virus wasn't the problem and yet I still can't get it to work. Beyond frustrated. What am I missing? I guess I will call support tomorrow as I doubt they are open on a holiday.
Users browsing this topic
Guest (2)
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF | YAF © 2003-2014, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.398 seconds.
nebo-cricut-03